The Poets range by McKelvie Candles

I have completely fallen in love with these candles. They combine my love for candles, literature and Scotland all in one beautiful product. Last week, I was on the hunt for Scottish businesses to get involved with my Instagram giveaway when I came across McKelvie candles. Straight away I knew I had to get my hands on them. Not only are they beautiful but they come in fragrances like Vanilla Tablet and Aipple Tert from Granny’s Kitchen range. However, while I was very excited about the prospect of tablet scented candles, it was The Poets range that really caught my eye.
As a writer, a lover of everything literary and a self-confessed candle addict, the idea of poetry inspired candles was just too good to be true. The Poets candles come in the following scents: Lady Mary Ann, Little White Rose, Eriskay Love, Fingal’s Cave, Mountain Daisy and Cotter’s Ingle. Some are inspired by Burns poetry, others by Keats or Scottish poet Hugh Macdiarmid.
When I contacted McKelvie candles about getting involved with my Scottish giveaway, I was even more intrigued by the fascinating tale that inspired The Poets range. The woman photographed on the lid (see photo above) is David from McKelvie Candles’ Granny. She went to Ecclesmauchan school near Broxburn where she fostered a great love of books and poetry and showed great academic promise. She graduated in 1911 and her headmaster pleaded with her to study English/Poetry at University – he even planned to arrange funding for her. However, it being 1911, her mother “ruled the roost” and told her “what’s the point in wasting time and money educating a lassie – she’ll gan oot tae service like the rest o’ them.” Heartbroken, David’s grandmother still continued to write poetry and share it with her family over the years. When they decided to launch a series of poetry inspired candles they decided to honour their granny by using her picture (aged 14) on the tin lids.
I was totally moved by this story being a female Scottish writer who was lucky enough to have the opportunity to follow my dreams and have just graduated with Joint Honours at the University of Glasgow in MA Comparative & English Literature. I paused to consider all the talented female writers who have never had their work heard or published throughout the years because of social expectations. However, I like to think justice is being served as Granny is getting her photo on a set of stunning candles and her story can be shared by many readers too.
With all this in mind, I was absolutely over the moon when David from McKelvie candles agreed to send me a couple of their candles to use as part of my Instagram giveaway. I’ve managed to get my hands on Eriskay Love, a lilac coloured floral and citrusy candle, and Little White Rose, white in colour and sweet in nature as the name suggests. They are beautiful. I can’t stress how lovely they smell and their tartan tins really finish it off for me. I especially love the added detail of decorative crystals.
You can check out McKelvie candles on their webpage or like their page on Facebook. Buy your own luxury scented candle by locating a store near you. If, like me, you’re from Ayrshire you can find McKelvie candles in Grassroots Fine Flowers in Irvine, Hayes Garden Centre in Symington or Forever Young in Kilmarnock among many others!


 

2 thoughts on “The Poets range by McKelvie Candles

Leave a Reply

