The Liebster Award

I was very kindly nominated for the Liebster Award by Imogen @ Wandered Souls and, like Imogen, I’m a bit of a novice blogger so it was a completely new concept to me.  The idea is that bloggers nominate other bloggers to win this award. Like a chain letter, it is passed from blogger to blogger with the aim that new bloggers around the globe can get their slice of recognition. It is such a lovely idea and I’m so glad to be a part of it!

I received my questions from Wandered Souls (thank you Imogen) which I’ll now attempt to answer before sharing my own questions with a few fellow bloggers and keep sharin’ that love.

  • If you could be best friends with an author, who would you choose and why?

It would be my beloved Jessie Burton (author of The Muse and The Miniaturist) Not only do I adore her writing style but I think she seems like a genuinely lovely person too. I was so pleased that she took the time to read my review of The Muse and give me her super enthusiastic feedback. It meant a lot to me and I think it says a lot about her as a person that she spends time talking and listening to her fans.

  • Is there a quote from a book that has inspired you/changed the way you view things? If so, what is that quote?

My favourite literary quote of all time is:

I am no bird; and no net ensnares me. I am a free human being with an independent will – Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre came into my life in my first year of University; I was eighteen and discovering who I was as a young woman instead of a child for the first time. I suddenly became aware of gender inequality and I think this quote really ~spoke to me~ as a result. Whenever I feel disheartened or like I can’t do something, I look up at my Bookishly print and ask myself WWJED (what would Jane Eyre do)

  • What is your favourite classic novel?

No prices for guessing that it’s also Jane Eyre. I know it’s a cliché but there is something so simultaneously heart-wrenching and uplifting about Jane’s story that I just can’t see past it. Jane Eyre was the first truly empowered female character I had read and to think that Charlotte Brontë was writing this novel in a time when women had no power or liberty. It’s just miraculous that she could create such a fiery and wonderful woman out of that time period. Above all, it’s a tale of self-discovery and I read it at a time that I too was figuring myself out and that’s very special to me.

13062093_10154348454332262_1883260829059735871_n

  • What made you start blogging?

Truthfully, one of my friends (also a blogger and a graduate in the MSc Publishing degree I start in September) advised me to start blogging to build up a portfolio of my writing. Essentially, my blog was meant to be a CV showcase for any future employers but it has turned out to be something very different. I never realised what an opportunity blogging is to meet some amazing people. I’m still new to the blogging scene but the great laughs I’ve had with people I would never have met otherwise has been such a blessing to me. The last two/three months have been awesome and I don’t think I could’ve survived that month of boredom in a full leg cast without my blog!

  • If you could jump in a time machine and go to any period, what period would you choose?

Well, since I’m currently drowning in a stupor of Outlander loving I guess I have to say 1740s Inverness just in the hope that I could meet Jamie Fraser (you were expecting that one, Imogen, weren’t you?) Realistically, I doubt the Jacobite uprising would have been a particularly wonderful so I’m going to say the 1980s because it’s my favourite era of music.

  • When you choose to have a takeaway what do you order?

Ugh, I’m a takeaway fiend! I love everything. I am vegetarian though so I’m somewhat limited. I like bean curd in a black bean sauce with salt ‘n’ chilli chips from the Chinese. I also love the Veg-a-Roma pizza from Dominos and a chana korma from the Indian. If I’m being good though I’ll do a Chinese “fakeaway” which you can recreate here (sorry for the shameless plug)

7891818_orig

  • What’s your favourite book turned into a movie?

This is a tough one. I thought the adaption of Room by Emma Donoghue was great. Brie Larsen’s performance was wonderful. I liked Gone Girl too. Again, it is Rosamund Pyke’s performance that really makes it for me. I’ve got a thing for strong independent females, okay? If I’m being truly honest: I’m a sucker for The Notebook because Ryan Gosling.

  • Do you believe in the supernatural?

Not really. I’m a child of the post-Enlightenment era I guess. However, I can’t deny there are some moments in life which are so uncanny that you have to stop and wonder if there is something more. My colleague would often say there’s a white witch in all of us; I’m sure Claire Randall would agree.

  • Do you like new book smell? Old book smell? All book smell|?

New book smell. The smell of a bookshop. Ugh. Old books just make me sneeze I’m afraid.

  • Where do you keep all your books?

In my bookcase. When I run out of room, I have to relegate some books to the confines of a plastic box in the loft (sorry, Twilight and True Blood series) I can’t wait to have my own personal library one day so all my books can be proudly showcased.

I am nominating the following blogs to answer my questions and join in on the Liebster Award. Some of you guys might have already been nominated so sorry if you have! I’ve decided to share with a few new people I’ve met over the last few weeks who all have amazing blogs (not including Wandered Souls since she nominated me but I do love her blog so check it out) My questions are a chaotic mixture of all the things I love and blog about:

Tash @ The Bookie Monsters

Luna @ ABitBookishBlog

Anna @ ALiteraryPotion

1WeekMary @ 1WeekMary

liebster

My Questions
  1. What is your ultimate book reading companion? Special candle? A pet? Favourite CD?
  2. Where is your peaceful place? Is there somewhere you go to get away from the world?
  3. If you could only take 3 books to a desert island, what would they be?
  4. What’s the most sacred possession in your room?
  5. Who is your literary role model and why? (Mine’s is Jane Eyre if you haven’t guessed by now)
  6. What meal do you cook if you’re wanting to show off your culinary skills? Feel free to share the recipe!
  7. Would you rather give up good books or good food? Why?
  8. Where is your dream travel destination? Why and what would you do once you were there?
  9. What’s your favourite smell in the world? If mine isn’t the smell of pad thai cooking then it’s got to be a Meraki or MoBros candle.
  10. Finally, what is the most motivational or inspirational book you’ve ever read?

Get answering and sharing guys, I can’t wait to read your answers! As always, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for blog updates!

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Imogen@WanderedSouls says:

    I LOVE your replies. I knew you’d say about going to potentially meet Jamie Fraser. I would hop in that time machine with you for sure. Chinese is also my favourite takeaway ever and your fakeaway honestly looks amazing. I am such a shit cook but I might try to do it at some point because the food in that picture looks AMAZING. I equally love your blog and of course love you. If you love The Notebook you need to watch The Longest Ride, it made me cry the other night.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thefourthmonthblog says:

      aww you sweetie💘 I’m so predictable 🙈 you should give it a go! I hope it’s not too complicated to follow, I’ve had a couple of girls send me their attempts and they loved it. I haven’t watched that yet but I definitely need to. Love a good chick flick. Thanks for commenting 💜

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

