Top 10 Asian Restaurants in Glasgow

Like me, Zina is a self-confessed foodie and loves exploring Glasgow’s hidden treasures. Glasgow is famous for its curries and Zina’s put together a list of her favourite pan-Asian restaurants that you must try out. I’ll definitely be trying some of these in the New Year whenever I’m in Glasgow. I personally love Hanoi Bike Shop and I’d also recommend Chaakoo Bombay Cafe on St Vincent St. Enjoy Zina’s guest blog and let me know what you think on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram – April


Do you love Asian food or fancy venturing out of your comfort zone and trying it? If you live in Glasgow, I’ve got you covered. I’ve created a list of my fave Asian restaurants in Glasgow. From Indian to Thai to Chinese, I highly recommend you start ticking these off your “places to eat” list.

I classify myself as a part-time foodie. Basically, I spend the majority of my time dining out at restaurants which is probably why I’m skint a lot. It’s a great way to catch up with friends or to go on a date with someone, so no regrets, right? May as well spend your money on the things you enjoy a.k.a good company and tasty food!

Top 10 Asian Restaurants in Glasgow:

Please note: these restaurants are in no particular order – let’s be real, it would just be cruel to make me choose one top Asian restaurant to dine out at in Glasgow when they are so many.

Rishis Indian Aroma

Address: 61 Bath St, Glasgow G2 2DG

Rishis Indian Aroma is an authentic South Indian restaurant that is a must-visit! I was first introduced to this by my bestie who is South Indian herself so I knew that if she went there, then it must be great – and it did not disappoint! From dosas to spicy curries, you can find a great mixture of different types of South Indian cuisine there. Not only can meat-eaters visit the restaurant (the meat is halal) but vegetarians can also be at ease visiting as there are lots of non-meat options on the menu such as Dal or Channa Masala. Rishis won’t break the budget either which is a plus.

Thairiffic

Address: 303 Sauchiehall St, Glasgow G2 3HQ

If you are a lover of Thai food, then Thairiffic is the place for you! Thairiffic (as the name suggests) is a terrific restaurant that offers high-quality, authentic Thai food. From Pad Thai to a Massaman curry, Thairiffic has got you covered with all things Thai. Most dishes offers you to add in a range of different meats and also vegetables or tofu – making it great for vegetarians as well. It also offers a great lunch deal where you can get a main and a starter for only £9.90. What a bargain, right?

The Hanoi Bike Shop

Address: 8 Ruthven Ln, Glasgow G12 9BG

The Hanoi Bike Shop is an authentic Vietamenese restaurant found in the heart of the West End in Glasgow. What makes Hanoi even more special is that every dish is made from scratch daily and all ingredients are sourced locally meaning the menu may doffer slightly depending on what goods they have that day. It has a great range of street food as well as Pho, which is a Vientamense national dish similar to Ramen. Like most others, Hanoi’s prices are decent so won’t blow the majority of people’s budgets. Very highly recommend this unique little restaurant.

Mother India

Address: 2, Industrial Estate, Lexden Lodge, Crowborough TN6 2EG

I haven’t actually been to Mother India yet but it’s on my list so I thought I would throw it in. I’ve heard amazing stuff about it so I’m dying to go give it a try. Mother India is another great Indiarestaurantnt in Glasgow that offers a range of typical Indian foods. You can have either fixed set meals or you can order from the à la carte menu. What’s even better is that you can also order a takeaway which a lot of quality restaurants don’t offer so you can enjoy Mother India’s food even from the comfort of your home! It is slightly pricier than the others places I’ve mentioned so far but from what I’ve heard, it would be worth the money.

Lychee Oriental Chinese Restaurant

Address: 59 Mitchell St, Glasgow G1 3LN

Lychee Oriental Chinese Restaurant was the winner of the “Best Asian Restaurant in Scotland 2013″ award alongside various other awards. Lychee has a great menu offering seafood, vegetarian options, specialties and more! It also has a gluten-free menu. The pricing is reasonable but some dishes are more expensive than others. It just depends what you fancy getting and how much you are willing to spend. Overall, Lychee offers high-standard food and service, which should entice you to visit!

Wagamamas

Address: 97-103 West George Street, Glasgow, G2 1PB

Okay, yes, most cities have a Wagamamas so it’s not exactly unique to Glasgow but I couldn’t not mention this fab pan-Asian restaurant. I legit go to Wagas all the time so it’s defo always on my list of restaurants to visit. If you haven’t had one yet then go right now! You can get loads of classic Japenese foods like Ramen, Gyozas. Katsu curry is a popular choice if you don’t like to venture out. The food gets made and sent out as it’s cooked so all your dishes won’t typically be sent out at the same time. You can eat with chopsticks or request cutlery if you can’t use them (like me – LOL). My aim is to eventually be able to use chopsticks and eat the food like you typically should. It’s ridic that I still can’t use them after all the time I’ve visited – props to whoever can eventually teach me.

Nippon Kitchen

Address: 91 W George St, Glasgow G2 1PB

Another Japanese restaurant in Glasgow that should be on your list is defo Nippon Kitchen. Nippon is very similar to Wagamamas but the bonus is that it also offers Sushi (Wagas doesn’t). So if you are a sushi lover like me but also want other Japanese food then rush over to Nippon as soon as you can. Nippon’s pricing isn’t too expensive and it also has a great lunch offer: 1 COURSE £8, 2 COURSES £12, or 3 COURSES £15. How amazing is that? My fave thing to order is a bento box and also sushi, of course, such as Avacado Makis, Spicy Sake and the Soft Shell Crab Maki’s. Again, I really hope to master chopsticks for my next visit. I’m getting better and better each time I go – LOL!

Koolba

Address: 109 Candleriggs Merchant City, Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom G1 1NP

Need another Indian restaurant to visit? Koolba is the place to go! Koolba has won various awards, including being crowned a winner in the annual “Curry Capital of Britain awards” four times. Amazing, right? Koolba make their dishes using traditional Indian cooking techniques and source their produce from local suppliers ensuring your food will be fresh and of high quality. It has a small lunch menu for 2 courses costing £9.95 and the main menu is, of course, more expensive but definitely worth it. I tried Chicken Biryani when I ate there and it was really good – doesn’t beat homemade biryani though, soz! Anyways, if you love Indian food as much as I do, I recommend you go visit Koolba.

China Sea Restaurant

Address: 12 Renfield St, Glasgow G2 5AL

Fancy a really good Chinese meal? Then China Sea Restaurant is the place to go. You can find all the classic dishes you would order at your local take out but this way you can enjoy it in a proper restaurant. The decor inside is my favourite as it’s done so traditionally, which makes it more appealing to go in. Also, I have to mention, the staff are so nice and pretty funny too. Last time I was in, the waiter kept making fun of mine and my friends’ “strange order” LOL. Like most restaurants, they offers a cheaper lunch deal: Two Course Special Lunch for £7.20. So I’d recommend getting the lunch deal so you can enjoy fab Chinese food at a cheaper price.

Dim Sum Restaurant

Address: 69 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2QB

Last, but not least, is Dim Sum Restaurant! This relatively new restaurant should be on your hitlist in the New Year. It offers a varied menu including dumplings, soups, and other traditional dishes. It is decently priced and the staff are friendly, which makes it a good choice for you if you want to try out some Asian foods. It isn’t my favourite place on this list but I definitely want to go back and try out some different foods I didn’t get the last time. Definitely give it a try yourself and see how you like it.


Know any other Asian restaurants in Glasgow that I didn’t mention? Hit me up in the comments and let me know your fave place to go. P.S. if you suggest taking me out to any one of these places, I’ll love you long time. Anyways, happy dining out #AsianStyle!

Love always,

Zina (Pure Fandom Guest Writer)

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram: @OhMyZinaa

If you like pan-Asian cuisine, why not try some of my recipes like vegetarian Pad Thai or this easy-peasy Chickpea Curry.

Leave a Reply

