February Reading Round Up

This February Reading Round Up blog will be short and sweet because I only managed to read a grand total of ONE book in February (Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert on audiobook). My Read More, Worry Less philosophy has taken a back seat to University and work because I’m making a book and a magazine. I’m one book behind schedule in my GoodReads challenge but I’m confident I’ll catch up in March.

Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert
Big Magic

Luckily, the one book that I did read was amazing. Big Magic was recommended to me by fellow MSc Publishing student and booktuber, Kellie Jones. I was a huge fan of Eat, Pray, Love so I was excited to listen to this and I wasn’t disappointed. Big Magic is all about creative living and Gilbert shares tales from different points in her life and career as a writer. It is incredibly inspirational and I recommend it to any fellow creatives: writers, painters, filmmakers alike. It’s funny, emotional and completely relatable if you’ve ever made something. Gilbert tapped into a lot of my own anxieties as a creative person.

How do I financially support myself until I make it? Gilbert says: make it work and don’t expect your creativity to support you. Get a shitty job and create in your spare time. Stop putting pressure on your creative work to pay your bills.

What if it’s not good enough? Gilbert says ‘Who cares?’ I loved, loved, loved Gilbert’s attitude towards high art versus low art. As someone who loves reading and writing romantic fiction but also studied English Literature at a prestigious University, I am torn between passion and self-criticism. Gilbert says: done is better than good. I’m going to carry this philosophy around with me. It’s time to stop worrying about whether my next book will win literary awards and just enjoy the creative process. I love writing love stories and I’m going to stop apologising for that.

Overall: I’d give this audiobook a big whopping 5 STARS.

Did Not Finish

Part of the reason I didn’t finish many books in February is because I kept starting books and giving up on them.

  • I was reading The Argonauts for Napier Lit Soc but I really didn’t enjoy how verbose it is. I can appreciate its value and I wanted to love it but I couldn’t relax into it.
  • As for The Falconer, I will come back to it. I like the premise and I was enjoying it at first. I’m just really struggling with YA fantasy in general right now.
  • I picked up Start With Why at work because I really like Sinek’s motivational speeches on YouTube but this book was repetitive and geared towards business rather than general self-help.

Currently Reading

Coming up in March… I’m reading The Goblet of Fire for the FIRST TIME and cherishing it. I may not be a Potterhead but it’s undeniably a brilliant story. I’m also finishing up Girls Will Be Girls for Napier Lit Soc and I’m obsessed with it. It has reignited a spark in the same way that reading How To Be A Woman did back in the day.


As always remember to tweet me and check out my #bookstagram.

One thought on “February Reading Round Up

Leave a Reply

